28 April 1789: anonymous correspondent, commercial plans, & a riot

Tuesday… — Mr. Parker calls on me this Morning. While he is with me I receive a second Billet from my anonymous Correspondent in which she desires that both may be returned. I comply, having taken the previous Precaution of copying them. This has more of the Prudence of Age than the generous Warmth of Youth in it but how can I help the Advances of Time, he will not stop for me. Mr. Parker proposes to me a Plan for importing Flour from America and he is to call again this Morning or tomorrow early. Says nothing as to the Shares of our European Negotia[tio]n. Several troublesome Visitors this Morning. I continue writing till I go to dine with Mr. L. Le Couteulx en famille. (…) From hence go to Mons[ieu]r Millet’s and inform him of one of my troublesome Visitors who is going to New York and will take Care of any Parcels which
may be committed to him. In my Way see some Troops marching with two small Field Pieces towards the Faubourg St. Antoine. It seems there is a Riot there. (…) The Weather this Morning showery but pleasant in the Afternoon.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 57.

Leave a Reply

