14 February 1790: visiting before going abroad

Sunday….—This Morning write. (…) I dine at Home on Chicken Broth and at five go to the Louvre. Sit a while with Mons[ieu]r & Madame [de Flahaut – AE]. My Carriage visits the Count de Moustiers and Madame de Bréhan. Then call on Monsieur & Madame de Puisignieu who are abroad. Go to Mons[ieu]r Millet’s and sit a while with him and Madame Roselle who shews much Contempt for him but is restrained by the Fear of Expulsion from shewing other Dispositions. Go to the Vicomte de Ségur’s where a Ball for the Children has collected the Parents to a great Number. Stay awhile. Madame de Bréhan reproached me for not having visited her & was I find at Home this Afternoon. A Promise to be more attentive on my Return reconciles her a little. Go from hence to Madame de La Borde’s and sup. My friend [Mme de Flahaut – AE] desires to see me ToMorrow Morning early. The Bishop [d’Autun] very kindly regrets my Departure. He tells me that the Sitting of Yesterday was the most tumultuous they have yet experienced. Return Home at eleven. The Weather this Day has been tolerably good.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 410.

Leave a Reply

