13 January 1790: selected to a select society

Wednesday... — This Morning I feel still incommoded. In Effect I want Exercise. Stay at Home till two waiting for the Man who was with me Yesterday and who promised to come again this Day. Then go to the Louvre. Madame [de Flahaut] cannot go with me to look for a Surtout & Ornaments, having Affairs. The Bishop [d’Autun] arrives. He has had me elected into a Society here which as yet I do not exactly understand the Meaning of; it is however a select one. He expects to get a Million for the Speculation proposed to Madame [de Flahaut]. He tells me that the Members of the breton Parliament came hither voluntarily because they apprehended Force from the Commons of Rennes. This is extraordinary, for Rennes subsists only from the Presence of the Parliaments. Go from hence to Messieurs Le Couteulx’s. Every Body is abroad. Thence to the Restorateur’s to dinner, and after Dinner to the Louvre. A Misunderstanding, Madame [de Flahaut] expects me at Chaillot. Go thither. Bring her Home. Take Tea and being… I return Home and go early to bed. This has been a very fine Day.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 365.

Leave a Reply

