3 January 1790: the largest Pike

Sunday… (…)

… I dress and go to Mr de Corney’s to Dinner. At entering the Room I think Madame looks as if I were one more than she expected. Her Husband invited me and has perhaps omitted to mention it. We have for Dinner the largest Pike I ever saw and the only good Pike I ever tasted. It is at least a Yard long. Every Thing is very good here. After Dinner there is some Conversation about the Caisse d’Escompte. The Plan adopted will I am perswaded fail of the supposed Effect but the Company seem all convinced of its Efficacy. I say Nothing but I overhear one Person making ridiculous Enconiums of Mr. Necker; too high to be just. A Mr. de Villemanse renews Acquaintance with me, and a Mr. Livingston; I never saw either of these Gentlemen above once. The former is a Commissaire de Guerre in Lorraine and has the Air of a Man who understands Business. The latter a young Man travelling for Amusement. Go from hence to the Louvre and do the whole Duty of Man…. I take her [Mme de Flahaut] to Chaillot. Return, sit her down and go to Mad[am]e de Chastellux’s. The Marechal de Ségur who is here tells me that de Corney is un grand Coquin and therefore in Capacity to eat such large Pike, which are not so uncommon as I supposed. Go hence to the Louvre, take up Mad[am]e and leave her at Mad[am]e de La Borde’s. Return Home and write. The Weather was pretty cold this Morning but cloudy, and this Evening warm with Rain.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 356-357.

Leave a Reply

