19 December 1789: Necker’s satisfaction & d’Autun’s jealousy

 

Sunday (…) …Richard calls and stays a long Time. He has nothing to say but he feels a Satisfaction in the Visit because he hopes something from me, and in Effect I must contrive something for him. When he leaves me Van Staphorst comes in and sits awhile. He wants my Ideas on the new System of Finance; I communicate them. Dress and call on Madame de Flahaut. Sit with her a little while and then go to Club. Thence to Monsieur de Montmorin’s; dine and stay some Time after Dinner. Mons[ieu]r de Malesherbes comes in. As usual gay and serene. When I go away Mons[ieu]r de Montmorin follows me and says that Mr. Necker is pleased with my Proposition and willing to treat with me provided I can shew that I am authorized by Persons of sufficient Property in Europe to create a due Responsibility. I communicate to him what passed with Mr. Necker and if I can judge rightly of this Conversation the Count at least (and probably Mr. Necker) is desirous of bringing this Business to a Conclusion. He asks me if he may speak to Mr. Necker about it. I tell him Yes, and that I will take an Opportunity one Day to call at Mr. Necker’s Coffee and converse with him if he chuses. Go hence to the Louvre. The Bishop and Monsieur de St. Foi are there. Soon after, Mons[ieu]r de Clermont Lodêve and then the Marquis de Montesquiou come in. I leave them. She follows me (seeing that I am a little vexed) and offers that I shall stay all Night if I will come in a Hackney Coach. I refuse and coldly. Go to the Chastelet accord[ing] to an Appointment with Madame de Bréhan. Stay an Hour and an Half, then go to Madame de Chastellux’s. Make but a short Visit and go back to the Louvre. Apologize to my friend for the cold Refusal; explain the Causes, which principally relate to her [Mme de Flahaut]. She is satisfied. She tells me what I had observed before, that the Bishop is jealous of me. Mr. de St. Pres and his Daughter come in. I go to Club. Sup and drink a large Proportion of Wine. Then go into the billiard Room where I see some very good Play. Stay till two o’Clock. This has been a very fine Day and promises well for ToMorrow.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 338-339.

Leave a Reply

