9 December 1789: Duke d’Orleans wants to move assets & a hurt orator

 

Wednesday… — This Morning Mr Parker calls upon me but I send him away, being in Expectation of La Touche. He does not come till eleven. He gives me to understand that the Duke [of Orleans] would be well content to have some Part of his Property placed in England. He is to call after Tomorrow and bring a List of his Effets royaux. After he is gone Parker comes. I dress and go to the Louvre; Madame [Flahaut] detains me till 3 o’Clock during which Time we perform the Part of the first Pair. Correct a small Paper I had written upon the Situation of the Caisse d’Escompte &c. At 3 go to Madame de Stahl’s. Dine. After Dinner Mons[ieu]r Clermont Tonerre reads us a Discourse he intends to deliver in the Assemblée. It is very elegant and much admired. I make however one or two Observations on the Reasoning, which brings the Company to an Opinion adverse to his. He goes away mortified and thus I think I have made an Enemy. We shall see. Go hence to the Louvre… Visit Madame de Chastellux. Thence to the Carousel and stay till near twelve. The Company is large and I employ the Time in reading. The Count de Luxembourg tells me that some Persons meditate a Massacre of the King, Queen and Nobles. I tell him that I do not believe it. This Day has been cold, damp and foggy.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 328-329.

Leave a Reply

