19 November 1789: Necker agrees to buy American wheat

Thursday 19. — This Morning write a little. The Count D’Estaing calls upon me and while he is with me I receive a Note from Mr. Le Couteulx desiring to see me. He has been three Hours Yesterday with Mr. Necker and the Committee of Subsistence. He relates to me what had passed and tells me that Mr. Necker will contract with me for Wheat. That I shall have the Permission to deliver at the Price stipulated twice the Quantity that I am bound to deliver. That he will contend for six Shillings but I can obtain six Shillings and six Pence. Finally that he has fixed an Interview for me at 7 this Evening. He is obliged to go abroad & therefore desires me to consider of the Means of Execution and call on him before I go to Mr. Necker’s. Go from hence to Mad[am]e de Flahaut. She is still in Bed but rises and pays the usual Adorations. We then ride. She sits me down and I walk thro the Champs Élisées till my Carriage returns. (…) After my Walk go to the Palais royal and dine with the Dutchess of Orleans. Thence to the Louvre to get a Ticket which the Bishop [d’Autun] was to procure for the Assemblée of To Morrow. Receive it and go to Mr. Le Couteulx’s. Converse about the Means of executing a Contract if any is made. He cannot furnish Credit or Money &c.. Go to Mr. Necker’s. He I find expects from me a pointed Proposal and tells me that Mr. Le Couteulx had named the Quantity I could deliver, the Price and the Terms. I tell him there is some Misunderstanding &c., &c., and take my Leave. Go to Club. A Gentleman from Antwerp tells us that Affairs in Brabant look unfavorably to the Emperor’s Interests. Go to Mad[am]e de Chastellux’s. Nothing here. Return Home. This has been a very fine Day.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 307-308.

Leave a Reply

