7 November 1789: Speculations & Unfulfilled hopes to have sex

Saturday… — This Morning de Canteleu breakfasts with me and we prepare his Argum[en]t against Mirabeau’s Proposition. He leaves me and Van Staphorst comes in. He tells me that an Enquiry has been made of him which he supposes to come from Mr. Necker, as to the Price at which flour can be delivered here. Wishes to know my Sentiments. I tell him that if Mr. Necker has set on foot such an Enquiry it is with a View to chaffering in a Bargain he is about to make. That the Flour will cost about 30/-St[erlin]g. per Barril and that I have told Mr. Necker so. After he leaves me I write and at half past three call on Mad[am]e de F[lahaut]. The Bishop [d’Autun] comes in immediately after. The Event of Mirabeau’s Propositions levelled at the Ministry has been a Resolution that no Member of the present States general shall be admitted to share in the Administration. Some Measures have been taken to guard the Church Property, at the Instigation of the Bishop. At four precisely I go hence to dine with Gen[era]l Dalrymple. The News which Madame de Chastellux communicated last Evening are I beleive entirely false and yet they were told to her by a confidential Person. To be sparing of one’s Faith is in this Country to œconomize one’s Reputation. After Dinner return to the Louvre, but my friend expects Company every Instant. A Madame de Montmorin soon comes in, and after her the Baron de Montesquieu, Son of the Marquis. I go to Mad[am]e de Chastellux’s and the Dutchess reproves me as usual for being so tardy. Madame de Ségur is there, and Mr. Short. This Day has been very blustering from the Southwest, I believe a heavy Gale at Sea.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 290.

Leave a Reply

