5 November 1789: Routine & a General

Thursday... — This Morning the Count de Luxembourg comes to breakfast and stays till one o’Clock. After him La Caze, both for the Purpose of Knowing my Sentiments on public Affairs. While the Count was with me I receive a penitential Letter from Mad[am]e de F[lahaut], to which I return a hasty Answer somewhat cold. Send to Mons[ieu]r Le Couteulx to know when I can see him. He cannot receive me this Morning but will visit me at any Hour I please in the Afternoon. Write and request him to come at four, and assign the Reason. Dress. Dine at the Restorateur’s and return Home. Mons[ieu]r Le Couteulx has sent a Note, He cannot come till five. Wait till after six and then conclude that he has forgotten his Appoint[men]t. Go to Gen. Dalrymple’s. Tell him the News which Doctor Senf gave me at Dinner from Brabant, viz that the Imperial Troops had been much worsted and that the People have declared Independence. This latter Part is certain, for I read the Declaration, or rather a Part of it. Visit at Madame de Chastellux’s and stay till ten o’Clock and then go to the Louvre. Madame was writing a Note to me. A great Deal of Blandishment, and on my Part much Sangfroid. I leave her at eleven much agitated. This has been a very fine Day.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 286-287.

Leave a Reply

