11 October 1789: Future Ministry & Real Truth

At half past nine go to the Louvre to Supper. Mad.e de Ruillie had come in before I left Mad.e de Chastellux, who gave us some Anecdotes, and also the State of Corsica where her Husband now is with his Regiment. At Mad.e de F[lahaut] we have Colo. O’Connell and Mad.e La Borde, his friend, with her Husband. After Supper the Bishop comes in and the Rest go away. I then tell him what has passed with La Fayette as far as is proper, and my future Intention, which is to tell him that having done my Duty to him and to his Country I quit the Matter and leave him to the Course of Events. I urge an Union with those who are to form the new Ministry and that they avow themselves to the People as Candidates, and let the Court know that they will come in together or not at all. He thinks this right, and also that the present Circumstances have sufficient Force to consume another Administration before Things are entirely fixed. He reads us his Motion. It is well done. Afterwards we talk about the best Ways and Means to effect the intended Objects, and I give him a few Hints on general Principles tending to the Wealth and Happiness of a Nation, and founded on the Sentiments of the human Heart. He is struck with them, as Men of real Talents always are with the Disclosure of real Truth. And this by the bye forms a principal Charm of Conversation. Oh! it is dreadfully tiresome to explain down to the first Principles for one of those Half Way Minds which see just far enough to bewilder themselves. This has been a tolerable Day but rather rainy. I visited Madame de Tessé but she was not at Home. I leave the Bishop with Madame, and they have every Opportunity to cornute me but I have every Confidence in my Mistress… have always obeyed me.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 255.

Leave a Reply

