8 October 1789: Lovers and Politicians

Thursday 8. (…) At one call on Madam de F[lahaut]; she is at her Toilett with Monsr. de St. Pres. After he is gone we converse together in the Style described by Hammond: I mingle sweet Discourse with Kisses Sweet and teach my lovely Scholar all I know, but in Effect my lovely Scholar has very little to learn on any Subject. Go to the Petit Dunkerque to get her Ring… (…) After Dinner call at the petit Dunkerque and having taken the Ring proceed to Monsr. de La Fayette’s. He is surrounded. In Conference with Clermont de Tonnerre. Madame de La Fayette, M. de Stahl & M. de Simien, his Friend, are en Comité in the Salon. This is all petit. I take a few Minutes to tell La Fayette what appears necessary as to a
Change of Adm[inistratio]n. He has spoken to Mirabeau already. I regret it. He thinks of taking one Minister from each Party. I tell him that he must have Men of Talents and Firmness and for the Rest it is no Matter. Am to dine with him to Morrow [sic – A.E.] and converse on this Subject. (…) At eleven I receive a Note from Madame de F[lahaut]; the Bishop is just arrived and wishes to see me. I go to the Louvre. Capellis is there. Madame takes the Bishop and me out, which surprizes Capellis not a little. We converse pretty fully on the Arrangement of a Ministry. The getting Rid of Necker is a sine qua non with the Bishop, who wants his Place. Indeed I am of the same Opinion. He gives me every Assurance I can wish respecting Lafayette. After arranging the new Ministry we come to the Finance, the Means of restoring Credit &c. Consider his Plan respecting the Property of the Church. He is bigotted to it and the Thing is well enough, but the Mode is not so well. He is attached to this as an Author, which is not a good Symptom for a Man of Business. However, our friend insists with him so earnestly that she makes him give up one Point. She has infinite good Sense. After he leaves us we pick up the Shreds of the Conversation and close as Lovers what we had commenced as Politicians.

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 247-249.

Leave a Reply

