1 October 1789: Prudence and Duty

This Morning write; at eleven call on Madame de Flahaut. Sit with her a long Time. She is still apprehensive of Consequences. If, however, nothing happens, we are to take Care for the future untill the Husband returns, and then exert ourselves to add one to the Number of human Existences. This is a happy Mode of conciliating Prudence and Duty. Madame de Corney comes and engages me to dine with her. I return home and write, then go to Dinner. (…) Mr Short comes in, and if I can read Phisiognomy he is not a little pleased with my friend, who makes herself very amiable because I think she suspects the same Thing; and this Circumstance pleases me very much, whence it is natural to conclude that I am not very jealous. Bring her to the Louvre and leave her there not without Regret, on my Part at least. She goes to Versailles this Evening…

A diary of the French revolution, by Gouverneur Morris, 1752-1816. Ed. by Beatrix Cary Davenport. Vol. 1 (Boston, 1939), p. 238.

Leave a Reply

